Burn & still stubble left, advice please

Hi guys

Newbie help here, please don't shoot me as I've only had 2 DE shaves, so I'm new to all this shenanigans.

I'm only doing 2 passes at the min, 1 with grain & 1 sideways. Always had trouble with the area at left & right side bottom of neck.

Would a pre shave oil help?

Any advice would be appreciated, would a pre shave oil help with the burn? I assume getting a closer shave will come from confidence & blade?

Great forum this, thanks a lot.

Last edited:
Hi guys

Newbie help here, please don't shoot me as I've only had 2 DE shaves, so I'm new to all this shenanigans.

I'm only doing 2 passes at the min, 1 with grain & 1 sideways. Always had trouble with the area at left & right side bottom of neck.

Any advice would be appreciated, would a pre shave oil help with the burn? I assume getting a closer shave will come from confidence & blade?

Are you only getting "the burn" on your neck? The neck is the most sensitive part of the skin that you shave so may take a while to settle down and get used to being shaved.
Oil may help but the best advice is No pressure when you shave....shave the lather off and the hairs will follow, keep an eye on your blade angle and make sure your lather is of the right consistency ....like a creamy yogurt and did I say no pressure? :) it will get better.

Last edited:
Are you only getting "the burn" on your neck? The neck is the most sensitive part of the skin that you shave so may take a while to settle down and get used to being shaved.
Oil may help but the best advice is No pressure when you shave....shave the lather off and the hairs will follow, keep an eye on your blade angle and make sure your lather is of the right consistency ....like a creamy yogurt and did I say no pressure? :) it will get better.

Cheers, yeah just the neck, started with the Astra blade from the samples you kindly sent.