Choosing the blade for you

I was wondering how you know which blade is for you? I'm new to DE shaving and so far have got the Astra and Personna blades and have tried one of each but cannot feel the difference between them. So if I were to buy some others such as the Derby, Shark, feather etc how will I know when I find my perfect blade?
Cheers all.

I'm sure many will suggest a sample pack available from a variety of vendors, and to take your time and go through the pack.

And as a fairly new convert myself, "you will know", when you find the ones that work for you.

Good luck and have fun....... Make sure there's a Voskhod in the mix :cool:

So it's just trial and error until you find the one then? I'll keep trying others then although I have to say the Astra did a great job.

Another newbie here.
My view was to start with a single blade type and establish / improve shaving techniques (there's a whole bunch of variables in play) and then to look at different blades.
I started with Derby out of the sample pack I purchased with the razor from Shave Lounge, which wasn't the best choice... I've since opened the Astra SP pack (thanks for the mild nudge, folks) and notice a marked difference (less dragging, for instance, and more consistent experience). I'll stick with those until the pack is empty but I'm mindful that the change of blade may be a placebo as I start to learn and is most certainly not the panacea.

That's sound, Tom. Using the same kit for a goodly while let's you know what is down to kit and what is down to your technique. Once you are happy with your technique is a good time to start introducing variables. Any good blade will do - Astras, Gillette Greens - and any good soap, one you can lather well and easily.