DE Blade advice for a newbie..

At 62yrs old, I'm not new to shaving, but I am new to de razor shaving and would like some advice.
After a bit of reading on what type of razor to buy, I went with a very nice vintage Gillette Tech. The reason for that is that I have very thick hair but sensitive skin and the tech looked like a mild one to start with!
Now blades. I'm a boat builder by trade and work a lot with wood and I know from experience that the best results come from having the sharpest tools, so I applied the same thinking to shaving and purchased some Feather blades to try. The results I have to say, were not great, lots of cuts and razor burn, especially on the neck.
So my first question is, I found the razor handle very small, it felt a bit like trying to hold a tooth pick, so can I get a fatter handle that will screw onto the Tech razor head, I think that might help.
I know for sure that I need to work on my shaving technique, for instance, I find my self using multiple razor strokes over the same area of skin even through the first stroke removed the shaving soap, a bad habit I'm finding hard to break!
So my second question is, should I use a different blade, with my theory being wrong, that the sharpest is best?
Your advice would be greatly appreciated..

Brian.
I would try a sampler pack of blades to see what is best for you and the razor. Yes you can buy fatter handles, try Windrose handles on ebay. Yes you must stop going over skin once the lather has been removed. Never shave unlathered skin, and above all use no pressure when shaving. :) P.

Welcome to the forum Brian,

A few things raised so here's an attempt to go through them.

Blades - Feathers are very sharp but they aren't the smoothest. IMO there are other blades which are sharp but smooth include Gillette 7 O'Clock Sharp Edge (Yellow Pack), Permasharp Super Stainless, Polsilver Super Iridium, Personna Platinum Chrome. All of these blades work very well in my Gillette Tech.