First time using ER 1912

Ive been looking forward to using this razor for weeks now, waiting for GEM blades to make it through the Xmas snail mail.

I found it difficult to find the right angle either too steep or shallow and unfortunate was left with some of the dreaded razor burn.

When I did catch it right I liked the aggressive feel. Think I definitely need more practice with this one, it was pretty tricky negotiating the shape of the razor. Amazed I got away cut free!!

Anyone use this razor regularly? I'm fairly new to DE and SE shaving, only getting in to it in the last couple of weeks, so I'm putting my current neck burn down to that and not this ace looking razor!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Almost flat on the face with a modern GEM blade, or you can shim the blade and then the angle is flat on the face. Works for me - I use a 1912 a lot.
Don't even think about 30 degree angles and such stuff - that's DE razors.
And - as always - NO PRESSURE.

Thanks mate, I'll give it a go that way next time.

The 1912 is a superefficient razor and one of my personal all time favourites.
Take your time and as mentioned no pressure. Good preparation and lather and remember the angle on this SE is totally different to any DE you have used.
Its like everything I suppose the more you practice the better you become at it.

May I ask.
Have you "Mapped" your beard?
In particular the hair around the neck area tends to grow all over the place in different directions, so it is paramount in my opinion that you follow the grain on your first pass. This will prevent neck burn.

Hope this helps and enjoy.
Wayne :)

May I ask.
Have you "Mapped" your beard?
In particular the hair around the neck area tends to grow all over the place in different directions, so it is paramount in my opinion that you follow the grain on your first pass. This will prevent neck burn.

Hope this helps and enjoy.
Wayne :)

Yeah I e worked out the mapping and first pass is always with the grain.