I'm new to this but it seems to be getting worse !!!

My first post here....

I started using DE razor a couple of weeks ago and it all seemed to be going well.

I didn't have any shaving cream so used some Gillette Series Gel. I have been very gentle with the razor too and the shaves have been good.

I've also watched tons of videos and read more about this style of shaving than I thought was possible !!

This week, I have had for the first time, a shaving rash at the bottom right of my neck and have found it painful !

This has coincided with me using some Palmolive Shave Cream and changing the blade on my razor to an Astra Superior Platinum.

I moisturise afterwards so this has led to it not being a painful as it could be but I was a bit nervous going about it this morning.

I've never had a rash using my Wilkinson Sword 5 bladed razor and the neck is the only place that any form of rash has appeared. I've even managed to avoid cutting or nicking myself !

Any help would be greatly appreciated as I don't want to give up on this style of shaving without giving it my best shot !!

Thanks in anticipation - Richard

Though Astras seemed to be highly recommended as a foolproof blade for all, I tried one as my very first blade and had a horrendous experience. I have since returned to try one again, and after 3 shaves with the blade can confirm they are still horrendous.

They do not work for me in my EJ DE89, and maybe not for you also. They don't seem sharp at all.

Different blades can need different angles to shave well. They can work for you in a specific razor or not.
I would advise not changing two things at once when starting out, especially as learning to make a good lather is a process in itself.