Late Starter

Hi guys,

I'm just starting out on my straight razor journey. It's slightly late (I'm the wrong side of 50) but I'm looking forward to the challenge! I've done a bit of research before buying my first razor which arrives on Friday and settled on a Gold Dollar from a guy on ebay. This guy seems to love what he does and has over 200 5 star reviews with no negatives reviews at all.

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/112307771601

Any tips for a complete novice would be appreciated.

Hi,
You have bought from a very reputable seller & I'm sure you will be pleased with your razor.As for advice I would say for you to simply relax & enjoy the experience.Its never too late to start using one & definitely no rush to perfect it.There is loads of information on here from fellow SR users & so much information online.Youtube is very useful for informative videos.Which strop did you buy?

Gold Dollars are Fine Shavers from that Seller..They are a Bit Unbalanced & Quite Heavy Bladed but Hey they are Cheap & Fine to Learn On..Learn to Shave & Strop & that's about it..The Learning is in the Practice..That Said..Lynn here Offers All the Advice You Need..Most Will Ignore it & Go for a BBS Full Monty & Piss Themselves Off from SR Shaving in Jig Time..:)

Billy

Hi,
You have bought from a very reputable seller & I'm sure you will be pleased with your razor.As for advice I would say for you to simply relax & enjoy the experience.Its never too late to start using one & definitely no rush to perfect it.There is loads of information on here from fellow SR users & so much information online.Youtube is very useful for informative videos.Which strop did you buy?

Not got a strop yet. I thought I'd hang fire on that for a few days and see if any advice comes my way!

Hi Kenny,