New User

hello all.
I am new to the world of straight razors, I researched this for a good few years (and put it off) before finally taking the steps of buying all the start up gear, a dovo razor, strop, brush etc etc.
At the moment I am 3 shaves in, as I thought and what the internet told me, the razor is factory shave ready but that is not properly shave ready (please correct me if this is wrong as it could well be poor form with my razor handling skills). The shaves have been goodish, my face is unsliced but it feels like there is a lot of tugging and general pain from the razor.
Should I be looking to get my razor honed?
Also any other help, hints advice would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks Steve

Hi steve
It could well be sharp but more than likely not shave ready best bet would be to get it honed. As for tugging make sure to keep the skin stretched and start with small strokes at a time.
Hope this helps and the big boys will help out soon with better advice

hello all.
I am new to the world of straight razors, I researched this for a good few years (and put it off) before finally taking the steps of buying all the start up gear, a dovo razor, strop, brush etc etc.
At the moment I am 3 shaves in, as I thought and what the internet told me, the razor is factory shave ready but that is not properly shave ready (please correct me if this is wrong as it could well be poor form with my razor handling skills). The shaves have been goodish, my face is unsliced but it feels like there is a lot of tugging and general pain from the razor.
Should I be looking to get my razor honed?
Also any other help, hints advice would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks Steve
Steve
I have Honed Many Dovo Razors..They DONT Come Anywhere Near Shave Ready from the Factory..In Fact..The Bevels are Not Set..So..YES..It will Need Honed..If You Want it Honed PM Me..Dovo SRs are Nice Shavers when Properly Honed..:D

Billy

Hello