Valet Autostrop Razors, Different Models

Greetings

When I first purchased a Valet Autostrop I was very confused regarding the different models and how the blades were held in place in each model and especially which models would take modified standard GEM SE blades.

I hope these photo's and explanations might help make it a little clearer.

Firstly I am not an expert on these razors I simply have a few and enjoy shaving with them and what I know I have learned by reading various articles and by experimentation with the razors.

Valet Autostrops were manufactured over very many years from about 1909 to I believe just before the second world war.

As you would expect many new and different models were developed and released but the basic razor remained more or less the same ie a single edged razor that was also a blade stropper in it's own right with no need to use a separate stropper as was the case with say Ever Ready razors.

Were the razor not a self stropper there would be no need for the quirky blades with the cutouts, the only purpose they serve is to prevent the blade from being pulled out of the blade holder by the friction of the blade on the leather during the stropping process. During the actual shave these cutouts serve no purpose at all as the blade is pressed forward against the blade stops and can not move.

When new all Valet Autostrop's were supplied with a strop, today fifty plus years hence these stops having been folded up in a box or tin are more often than not useless. Anybody who wishes to make a serious attempt at 'tuning up' used blades would do well to invest in a modern strop. Neil Miller makes them. I personally find no reason for doing so I have played with stropping but have never succeeded UK Rob who is a straight razor user has tried with I believe limited success.

Although there are many very slightly different models I have found only three different types of blade holder, you will see in the photos below from left to right.