Just finished my first cartridge, now need to fill from a bottle.

I have a syringe, an empty cartridge and a sports converter.

I assume that if I'm going to reuse the cartridge I will need to flush it out. Warm water for this?

Is there any advantage over refilling the converter with a syringe as advised on another thread, over sticking with the refilled cartridge?

The pen is now entirely dry, will I need to flush it out with water? how would I go about this please?

Also, the last few strokes as the pen ran out things got a bit scratchy, will carrying on to the bitter end cause problems with paper clogging the nib? is it better to stop writing when one realizes the pen is near dry and flush out the tiny bit of remaining ink with water?

LOL, so many questions.

I'm very new to FPs Gazza, having just bought my first couple a few months ago. In my limited experience I found that flushing the pen or converter with cold water is ok.

I've tried to put what I've been doing to flush my pen in the bullet points below. I hope you might find something below helpful.

1) insert the pen -with the converter minus the top (I forget the technical term!) - into a glass of water
2) fill the converter with water through the nib
3) take the pen out of the water and depending on the converter, squeeze/push it until all of the water is deposited
4) repeat the above steps until the water runs clear with no ink showing at all. The best way to see if there's any ink still coming through the nib is by wrapping it in kitchen paper, any moisture will be absorbed quickly and you will see by looking at the paper whether it's still inky.

I'm not sure about refilling the cartridge mate. Chris Bell was very helpful when I was looking into FPs. He's probably our resident expert on FPs, I would drop him a wee pm to see if he could help with that.

Cheers

B

Ps I have only used a Lamy Safari and Kaweco Sport thus far

Thanks for the reply CB.