Hard soap help?

Hi all,

I've never used a hard shaving soap before and I'd quite like too but I've got a few questions.

Can you switch pucks out of bowls/ use one bowl for numerous pucks or do you use one bowl per puck? (Most places I've seen charge £10+ for a bowl when most soaps are less than a tenner. I'd rather spend less on bowls and more on soaps). - if you know of a cheap soap bowl/ container solution then please fire away.

I've read a lot of people swearing by using boar brushes with soaps. Is a boar brush a way to get 'the best' out of a soap?

Finally, I want to buy maybe 3 different soaps to start with. 3 different brands of possible. What are the 'essential' shaving soaps (if there's such a thing)?

Thanks in advance guys!

Synthetics for me. Some like badgers, but my premium Silvertip Maseto is currently on BST.

The 250ml aluminium containers on eBay are perfect for refills - enough room to sweep a brush round. Cheaper from China if you can wait.

Search for "4 x 250ml Aluminium Tin Silver Round Containers with EPE Lined Screw Lid"

Even cheaper are the plastic containers:

"Clear Round Food Containers Plastic Storage Tubs with Lids Deli Pots +Microwave"

Synthetics for me. Some like badgers, but my premium Silvertip Maseto is currently on BST.

The 250ml aluminium containers on eBay are perfect for refills - enough room to sweep a brush round. Cheaper from China if you can wait.

Search for "4 x 250ml Aluminium Tin Silver Round Containers with EPE Lined Screw Lid"

Even cheaper are the plastic containers:

"Clear Round Food Containers Plastic Storage Tubs with Lids Deli Pots +Microwave"
Bought 4 aluminium tins mate. Thanks. Naturally I'll now have to buy 4 soaps rather than 3 :). Got any recommendations?

Bought 4 aluminium tins mate. Thanks. Naturally I'll now have to buy 4 soaps rather than 3 :). Got any recommendations?