A short essay about me

I've been wetshaving for many years, never getting along with electrics at all, and have gradually slid away from the mainstream - first from the omnipresent Mach 3 to Azors and their gel, then to Noxcema, and just very recently - after weeks of research and reading and mantic-watching - into DE (a week ago) and brush and lather (a fortnight). So far everything I have is off the high street shelf - Boots razor and cream, KoS balm, Men-U brush, WS soap bowl (I know, I know) - but I've ordered the Trumper's sample pack, and more spending is certain to come soon.

I never had any trouble with the mainstream shaving tech and cartridges last me for weeks (I have a goatee and presumably a pretty cuttable beard), just fancied the ritual and tradition and general hobbyability of all this. At the back of my mind is the idea that when I have single-blade DE together I can try straight shaving, which will make me feel manly and puissant.

Other stuff: I have too many fountain pens (and am getting worse) and far too many guitars (seem to have levelled out now). I'm a mathematician and musician, schoolmaster and "one of the North West's leading eccentrics", fat man and athlete (powerlifting), and never use one word where three will do. As you may have noticed.

IanM and I have been friends for a decade or so, but I am not his fault.

Hello.

At the back of my mind is the idea that when I have single-blade DE together I can try straight shaving, which will make me feel manly and puissant.

You will feel extremely manly with a proper Merkur in your hand anyway, these Straights don't exclusively hold the moral high ground on hetero-ness you know.

Thank you for the essay, great introduction. Hope you're not too attached to the goatee, after a proper DE shave, and maybe a few beers, that thing may well go at some point. :twisted:

Welcome sir.

Good post Doc,