Advise the new boy!

As I've said on my first post I'm new to de shaving and have always had problems with greasy skin/ spots if I use any moisturiser. If anyone can recommend some good post shave techniques to help it would be appreciated

Start with getting some proper stuff. Speick series is hard to beat - splash, balm, moisturiser, as well as the rest of their products. Their moisturiser is quite heavy though, but balm is more than enough after a shave.
You may also want to consider switching to cold water shaving, that is very beneficial for the skin too.

I'd recommend using an alum block after shaving. I've found it helps my skin to no end.

I still wait until my skin is totally dry and then I apply some balm.

simonkidder said:
Would cold water not close the pores leading to not as close shave. I'll give it a go tho and look at that range thanks

It would close the pores. And this is exactly why it also leads to a much closer shave, let alone irritation free aspect ;)

If you do wanna try it, sequence is following (and don't listen to the old grumpy gits!):
- wash your face with some moisturising soap (NOT Dove)
- thoroughly wash with cold water
- make a lather as usual - with some warm/lukewarm water
- pat your face dry
- apply the lather
- shave
- rince with cold water between the passes

This is a method from a 100 year old barber book, and I've seen a couple more references that old taking a piss outta new whimpy generation using warm water to shave with.
Also, your face will be getting used to it for a week or two, after that temperature won't matter at all sense-wise, you'll be comfortable with ice cold water should you ever need to have a shave in those conditions.

P.S. even better after a good cold shower, especially for health ;)