Fountain Pens- the idiots guide?

Hello men,

I've decided I want to start writing like a real man, I've been shaving like a real man for coming up to a year now, and want to make the next leap.

I've not owned a fountain pen for a long time, and when I did it was just a cheapy one with the little cartridges which you push onto the barrel (?). I had this in about year 7 of school, so thusly spent most of the time pissing about and just smashing the cartridges with the heel of my hand, so they exploded a Pollock-esque mess all over my paper. Mature, eh?

Well now I've decided I want to start documenting things in my boring life, and just writing whatever comes into my head, and anything I can do.

Now we come onto the pen. I've been browsing Cult Pens, and as I'm a newbie in this field, have been looking at the reasonably priced Lamy Safari. I've seen talk on here about how good it is. I'm a lefty, so is it wise to go with the LH nib choice?

Now, where I'm really confused, is the inks. It comes with a cartridge, but there's talk of a converter, and bottled inks etc., and being a complete idiot, I don't understand. What's the best ink to use for this pen? Is it better to buy a converter, and bottled ink (that's even if that's what I'd need, I really have no clue!) or cartridges?

Any words of advice would be greatly appreciated.

I'm looking to spend around £25 pound for my first pen and ink(s), so is the Lamy a good choice, and how should I go about inks?

Apologies in advance for my idiocy, but I figure you all put up with my inane shaving questions when I first started, so I'm sure you'll help me out once again!

Thank you!

Alex

Great, thanks!

Is that their ink cartridges?

What about bottled inks? I've seen the name Diamine thrown about a lot, is it worth buying the converter and some Diamine ink, or is it a personal choice?

SmallBeard said: