Gillette Travel Tech Aluminium 1968

I'm new to DE shaving. On a whim I snapped up a cheap razor from eBay. It appears to be a 1968 (code N2) travel tech with an aluminium handle. The seller described it as "mint", it still has the little card, blade substitute and the knurling on the handle is very crisp. However, the nickel plating is bubbling on the cap and one of the combs. It came in a little carry-case with a Gillette Super Stainless box, but with only one blade in it. So a few questions:

1 - Is this worth anything to a collector? Should I sell it or just go ahead and use it?
2 - What are these like to shave with? Since I'm new to this I'm still trying to calibrate myself to what is aggressive and what's mild.

Thanks in advance for your help.

[attachment=5982]
[attachment=5983]

Attachments

• IMAG1024_small.jpg
    IMAG1024_small.jpg
    353.5 KB · Views: 55
  • IMAG1022_small.jpg
    IMAG1022_small.jpg
    345.5 KB · Views: 50
Probably not worth a great deal - not a sought after model and bubbling not good. Was low but not bottom end when made. Handle should be fine as the years go on because that's not plated. Looks like a nice little set though. I would just use it. It's a mild razor and the light handle makes getting the balance a little tricky for some but it is a good razor. I have one although not with such a short handle. The blades will probably be very nice

NotTheStig said:
Probably not worth a great deal - not a sought after model and bubbling not good. Was low but not bottom end when made. Handle should be fine as the years go on because that's not plated. Looks like a nice little set though. I would just use it. It's a mild razor and the light handle makes getting the balance a little tricky for some but it is a good razor. I have one although not with such a short handle. The blades will probably be very nice

Cheers NTS, that's pretty much what I thought.