Highland Soap Co. Natural Shaving Soap.

Highland Soap Co. Natural Shaving Soap.

<!-- m --><a class="postlink" href="http://www.highlandsoaps.com/cat-16-subcat-43-product-485" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;">http://www.highlandsoaps.com/cat-16-sub ... roduct-485</a><!-- m -->

Directions: Wet the face with warm water. Apply a wet shaving brush to the soap, lather up in the tub and apply to the face.

INGREDIENTS: Sodium olivate (olive oil), Sodium cocoate (coconut oil), Sodium palm kernelate (organic palm oil, sustainably-grown), Zea mays (corn oil), Aqua (water), Butyrospermum parkii (Shea butter, fairly-traded), Theobroma cacao (Cocoa butter, fairly-traded), Sodium castorate (castor oil), Lavandula officinalis (lavender essential oil), Pogostemon cablin (patchouli essential oil), *Linalool, *Limonene, *Geraniol. (*Occurs naturally in essential oil).

I bought a tub of this from their shop in Fort William. I've been using it intermittently for a couple of months, and continuously for the past couple of weeks. In that time I have noticed a distinct improvement to the smoothness/softness of my skin, even more than my previous favourite, Kent.

It comes in a plastic tub with a metal screw top. When you take the lid off there is a very pleasant lavender smell, but I can't detect what I would call patchouli.

The instructions say "Wet the face with warm water. Apply a wet shaving brush to the soap, lather up in the tub and apply to the face." As soon as you apply a wet brush to the soap the lavender aroma intensifies, very pleasant and not overwhelming.

The brush loads up easily after half a dozen swirls in the tub, and a nice smooth lather is just as easily built up on your face.