Identification Help

Howdie, I've just inherited a classic shaving set from an Uncle of mine that has passed away. I'm guessing the Gillette in there is a double edge butterfly safety razor.

But I am having trouble working out what two other items are. They appear like two separate stainless steel pepper shakers, and one has a very old block at the bottom of soap looking material, with a musky aroma.

Any advice for a complete newbie in this area will be greatly appreciated!

azazeal said:
Howdie, I've just inherited a classic shaving set from an Uncle of mine that has passed away. I'm guessing the Gillette in there is a double edge butterfly safety razor.

But I am having trouble working out what two other items are. They appear like two separate stainless steel pepper shakers, and one has a very old block at the bottom of soap looking material, with a musky aroma.

Travel holders for soap (the one with soap in) and shaving brush (ventilated to let moisture evaporate so brush doesn't go musty)

Ainslie

Many thanks!

Gingerpose said:
azazeal said:

Travel holders for soap (the one with soap in) and shaving brush (ventilated to let moisture evaporate so brush doesn't go musty)

Ainslie

These are some pictures of the razor (taken from a poor camera).

[attachment=2985]
[attachment=2984]
[attachment=2983]
[attachment=2982]

I've put a small pack of blades on order to try it out. Before coming across this forum and finding out feather blades are ninja sharp!

Attachments

• IMG_0145.JPG
    IMG_0145.JPG
    444 KB · Views: 13
  • IMG_0144.JPG
    IMG_0144.JPG
    290.1 KB · Views: 14
  • IMG_0143.JPG
    IMG_0143.JPG
    180.3 KB · Views: 23
  • IMG_0142.JPG
    IMG_0142.JPG
    84.8 KB · Views: 20
It looks like an aluminium handled Gillette Tech to me.

Check out these links:

http://www.mr-razor.com/Rasierer/Tech/1963%20Tech%20England.jpg

http://www.mr-razor.com/Rasierer/Tech/1972%20(S4)%20Tech%20England.JPG