Newbie with ripped face

hi I am completely new to wet shaving I am 28 and come from West Yorkshire
I've always used hair clippers to trim to stubble and left it at that but recently got into dressing better so sharing has become necessary to look right,
I got a brush and some wilkinson sword soap and a disposable from Tescos badly smothered a lather on my face and carved away until smooth now 3 days later I'm on here looking for help to heal my face lol
I've got a DE in the post and some blades (unsure what they are yet) I've been told my cheap brush will be fine and my soap will do until I get more but I need to get the prep right and some post shave balm and some alum is there anything else I'm missing???

Styptic pencil.

Take some time to figure out the directions your hair grows on your face (face mapping). Shave in those same directions. Don't try to get absolutely smooth your first few outings.

Splash water on your face (rubbing wet hands over it will work too) before you apply the lather. There's a reason it's called a 'wet' shave.

Resist the temptation to go back over a shaved spot to catch a few missed stray hairs. You always want to have lather between the razor and your skin. Stop for a moment, reapply lather, then shave them.

Reapply water before putting the lather on for your second pass. (Yes, you will need to shave your entire face at least twice.)

Watch your pressure. DE razors don't need to be pressed hard into the skin to shave.

If you follow my advice about pressure and always making sure there is lather between the blade and your skin, you should be able to get irritation free shaves right from the start.

First off prevention is always better than cure.

The Wilkinson soap is known as the 'Blue Bowl of Death' for good reason. Get yourself a stick of Palmolive shaving soap, grate it into a tub and you have a decent product which works as it should for just 50p. You can even lather directly on to your face if you prefer.