Photo alignment issue

I'm using an old Sony digital camera and recently I have had some issues when taking pictures, this actually all coincides with my youngest daughter using the camera at a birthday party. Maybe she pushed a button, I don't know, I'm no expert at these things. :huh:

Anyway the problem is this - when I take a photo, the image actually taken is about 1/4 higher than what was actually shown on the screen, and no I'm not moving when taking the picture.

Any help would be much appreciated and I hope I don't need to buy a new camera. :icon_sad:

Cheers
Jon

Does the camera use a viewfinder that you put your eye to or does it have an LCD display on the back where you compose your images?

Out of interest as I have a Sony SLT I did a search and it seems a problem that can happen! there were a couple of links to this. Here is just one.

http://www.dynaxdigital.com/sony-alpha-crop-sensor-camera-discussion/alpha-200-sensor-alignment/

There is a solution in that link, not sure if I'd attempt but at a last ditch solution it may be worth a go. What model camera do you have and how old is it ? Sony charge so etching like £50 before they even start on out of warranty repairs, may be worth taking it to a local camera shop and seeing what they say, some may offer a repair service.

To be honest... you'll be very luck to get a £130 camera repaired and have the repair cost worth you while relative to the cost of the camera.

It does sounds like your camera could have been dropped and the sensor misaligned with the lens.

I'd try all the basics though first:

* Format your memory card
* Upgrade the camera firmware
* Do a factory reset (if possible)

Failing that, I'd look for a repair diagnosis and quote. It's often the case that digital camera repairs don't come in any cheaper than £60 - £100 pounds... if you're lucky.