Should I Ditch DE?

I've been using a straight pretty much every day since Christmas and over the last few weeks I feel my technique is certainly 75% there anyway. I don't feel a need to use a DE now and am therefore contemplating selling off my blades and my one remaining razor. I figure that if I did have a period when I couldn't use a straight, say if I got the 'flu, I could always get some Bic single blade disposables to tide me over.

So, has anybody here gone exclusively straight* or has everyone got either a DE or a cartridge razor hidden away in reserve?

*Should have made that the thread title as it sounds a bit rude. :s

I've been using only straights for about four months now, my SE and DE are sitting on the shelf looking very neglected and unloved. I know exactly what you mean, but I think i'll still hang on to mine, you never know.

You'll be in a rush one day PC. I haven't even got rid of cartridges to be honest... I still keep a Sensor for those days where work decide to drag me in at 4am. I lather up with a brush but I whack the bristles with the Sensor and it saves me 7 minutes or so.

I think you should keep that DE, it'll come in handy.

Haven't touched an off the shelf razor for 5 years and Never intend to.

For me i found success with boots anti friction shave gel, which makes things alot easier for me and quicker. I don't use a brush, but still have a good pre & post regime.

How much space or tied up capital can one wee razor & some blades involve ? I know it's not quite the same, however straight shaving pretty much stopped for me when I started to develop cataracts & the ole handies became not as steady as they once were. So I was pleased to have a couple of olde shavings pals to return to.

Now, of course, I use a single edge ............ Just like a real man !!!

JohnnyO. \:angel: