Stepping up from a Boots DE

As some of you will know im new to DE shaving. Ive had 2 shaves with the £3.79 Boots DE which i bought last week and now like a magpie im now finding myself looking at shiney shiney DE razors. Im happy enough with the boots blades at the moment so id like to use them up in something better then move onto other ones so i can find the one which works best for me.

Whether this matters or not but i have rather sensitive skin.

I've looked through the forum ive come up with these options:

Merkur 33c
Merkur 34c
Edwin Jagger DE89L (lined version)

From what ive read the 33c is more forgiving to those who are learning and press on a little (which i do), the 34c seems a popular choice as does the the DE89L.

Im sure i wont go wrong with either of these but im open to suggestions to help me make my decision (plus any ideas left field ive not thought of), im not considering vintage razors as im sure a collection will follow in due course!

Hi, Martin
Just one point first... get all the proper kit and do the proper prep and shaving for a few weeks, then decide whether you have sensitive skin. I thought I had sensitive skin (for 56 years) and am now concluding that I could give a rhinoceros a run for it's money (skin-wise)... sorry, a bit of an overstatement, but I'm getting there. If you truly have sensitive skin, then you'll still get on fine with all the proper kit and proper prep etc etc.

For what it's worth, I moved from the Wilkie cheapie to an EJ DE89.. I got unlined as it's even shinier, and had no trouble with the grip when wet. You'll do fine with any of usual suspects. However... after a few short weeks and the prospect of a future Christmas present, I'm now thinking about adjustable options... pure and simple case of RAD, I'm afraid.