Sterilising Brushes?

I have a couple of brushes off eBay - small vintage travel ones, both were described as "unused" but clearly both have been. So How best to sterilise them. The tubes (Bakelite) I have thoroughly scrubbed and then popped through the dishwasher on a 90 degree cycle. Im a bit loath to try that with the brush, likewise Im not sure how they would stand up to a one hundred and twenty degree pressurised steam autoclave cycle of 15 minutes.

Anyone got any ideas? Or bin them and buy a Wee Scot?

How I do it:
First clean the knots in dish washing soap and let them soak in soapy water for about 15 minutes. Rinse thoroughly afterwards.
After this, soak the knot in a vinegar solution (approx. 30% vinegar) or borax solution, also for about 15 minutes. After that I rinse again and do a testlather.

If you've got wooden handles, take care to soak only the knot and not the handle as the wood may crack.

I'm no expert, so if other members have different ways, I'd like to know that as well!

Ive heard of people soaking in Borax and other similar solutuions without harm to the bristles.
Personally I'd use a regualr cleaning method like a mild diluted vinegar solution,,,couple of 5-10 minute agitated soaks followed by a few hand lathers with a mild shampoo.
I'd avoid very high temperature as the knot may come out or even fall apart.
It's probably a case of freshening the brush up rather than sterilising it.
If the knot is caked up with old lather etc at the base then I'd remove and replace with a new one.
regards beejay.

Northam Saint said:
But don't most germs die with in a few days / hours of being exposed to the air etc. What could you catch from a brush ? Would a few test lathers also not have a cleaning effect ?

I agree, any blood born viruses/bacteria would be long dead from the shipping time. Plus, you can let it sit for an extra week if your still unconvinced.