Synthetic Brushes

Hi all,

because I am still quite new to all this I was wondering - how do the synthetic match up with the boar and badger? what's the 'best' synthetic brush?

any particular benefits? the drying time seem to make them maybe an ideal traveling brush?

Please share your knowledge/experiences with me :)

Hi, I have used mainly synthetic brushes - Superdrug (when they made them), and Body Shop. They lather up better because they do not absorb water, so you have to make sure you use less water when lathering up. At the moment I use a boar brush (Men U) which is good to use, but when it reaches the end of its life, I'll get another synthetic brush. I won't use badger because I don't agree with it.

I've used a Body Shop synthetic as a travel brush, I wouldn't say they lather up better, in fact boar or badger are better latherers for me, but the synthetic does dry very quickly so can be packed away quicker.

I notice that Men U also make a synthetic brush that has had a few write ups, but at ~£30 I've no interest in trying.

I use the Body Shop synthetic, it's really handy, cheap and I think fairly indistructable. As a first or A N Other brush for 6 quid it's worth a bash, and like someone else said it won't stink out your wash bag on holiday