What am I doing wrong?

Not sure what I am doing wrong but after shaving this morning my face didn't feel smooth.
I used the brush, and yes still got my Gillette foam, but proper cream is on the way.
I soaked my face before hand, and rinsed between shaves. Small straight cuts.
The main problem, for me at least, is my chin and underneath. It has always been tougher to shave there.
I had to do an extra pass to get it close to smooth. I am not giving up because of problems, I'm still learning, and trying to correct mistakes.

Every shave has a difference and every shaver is different.

I don't rinse between shaves and just have one pass WTG (really, it's just south).
My chin gets a XTG and an extra bit of work.
My jaw line also gets XTG sweeping towards my chin.
I gave up with ATG, although under my shin does see a tiny bit of that action.

But them I take long strokes like a cartridge razor as smaller strokes made no difference to longer ones.

See what happens on the next shave.

Think about your blade - is it time for a change?

Hi, cuts like that have little to do with cream or soap, but more to do with technique.Go easy on pressure and make sure the razor is properly aligned to the direction of shave ( i.e not pulling the razor sideways in a slanting motion). Also, check that the blade is properly seated in the razor (behind the blade stops and centralised.)

Thanks, I guess in a way I am over thinking it. Expecting perfection and smooth from the go. It's going to take me a bit of time to understand how my hair grows. I am fairly soft with the pressure, yesterday it was way too hard and face felt raw afterwards. I may, today, have been too gentle. I'll get there.

Think you self-diagnosed that one, practice makes perfect. Personally I would recommend sticking to a single razor/blade/brush/soap/cream combo till you get comfortable with technique, pressure etc. Smooth BBS shaves will become more frequent :)