Whats causing this......

Hey guys.

I just had my evening shave and as I keep saying I'm very new to Traditional shaving.
(Loving the new Edwin Jagger number!)

I had the CLOSEST shave ive ever had - even went for an ATG final pass. But....

When I finished the shave, there were really small specks of blood coming from some areas of my face. They aren't nicks or cuts per se, it almost looks like blood coming from some of the pores.

Its not really giving me any pain either, I just thought I'd ask on here if I did something wrong, and what can I do to avoid this in trhe future?

Stu.

Arrowhead said:
Hmm, weepers. Too much pressure, too many passes, inferior lather - that sort of thing.

Yup. Could be any of those really. If you are new to going against the grain then I reckon you just need to ease off the pressure. You may find that some areas of your face are never a good place to go ATG. After a lot of time I found that I could do my neck, apart from the middle part above the adams apple which I don't even bother trying any more as I always seem to nick it.

Arrowhead said:
Hmm, weepers. Too much pressure, too many passes, inferior lather - that sort of thing.

Hmm, yeah I gathered this would be the case. I think I'm still using bad habits gained during cartridge shaving. Im trying to keep the strokes controlled and short, but I often go over the same area 3 times even in just one "pass" if you get me? Guess I need to just imbed the new technique into my brain.

noobstu said:
Arrowhead said:

Hmm, yeah I gathered this would be the case. I think I'm still using bad habits gained during cartridge shaving. Im trying to keep the strokes controlled and short, but I often go over the same area 3 times even in just one "pass" if you get me? Guess I need to just imbed the new technique into my brain.

Yeh, I had the same problem, definetely need to dump the old cartridge razor technique. Also get an alum block to finish up with.