My video about honing and sharpening straight razors

I'am the" actor" in these videos on you tube.
Caudano
[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4ajgw5G14II[/youtube]

Mauser
[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-ob8ePZL44g[/youtube]

Boston
[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kUWn3ZHF9DA[/youtube]

[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hQHUUAuKfY8[/youtube]

I'm just a beginner but surely supporting the hone by hand, using that rapid honing technique with the spine seemingly clacking away...can't be good. How can it be possible to apply constant and even pressure?

You surely have learned to hone from master Livi!? He has a brutal honing technique aswell :lol:. Well done, it was a pleasure to watch :D

That techinque cuases much hone wear (Andrea uses tape at one vid though), Livis new razors has more hone wear than most of my vintage ones. As for uneven bevels I don´t think it´s an issue, if you know what you´re doing. Honing can be a brutal thing, most hone masters prob do something like that when setting the edge, I think it´s more unusual to go the whole process like that though!?

Pig Cat said:
Bit spooky when I started watching this Andrea, you look very much like me. :shock:

But a lot younger!! :roll: :evil: :evil: :evil: :lol:

That's funny, that's what I thought, what a minute I think my old Pa used to "work" with horses in Suffolk. :shock:

Only watched snippits (without sound) but from what I've seen there's nothing particularly odd about it, I believe that they are known as half strokes and when I did my best honing to date honing its exactly how I set the bevel in the 1st place. I do think as far as polishing the bevel goes most people use a conventional X stroke but whatever works.

antdad said:
Pig Cat said:
Bit spooky when I started watching this Andrea, you look very much like me. :shock:

But a lot younger!! :roll: :evil: :evil: :evil: :lol: