Usual lather problem

G

Hello all

I'll cut straight to the chase...

I am a newbie having trouble creating a decent lather. I am using a silvertip brush and palmolive soap stick. I also live in a hardwater area, which I see might be a slight issue, or at least involve a bit more work.

My current method is to soak the brush for a couple of minutes, then rinse. I soak the shave stick, then rub the brush on it to pick up as much soap as possible. I then start rubbing the brush around in the bowl, and add a bit of wather here and there.

I have Taylor of Bond St. Sandlewood soap in a bowl. Would that be any easier to use than the Palmolive stick? Should I have maybe opted for a cream over a soap - I hear that these are a bit easier for the newbies amongst us.

Cheers

Mark

try face lathering

usual prep then rub the dry stick on your wet chops and start build the lather with your brush on the drier side of damp, you can always add a wee bit more by dipping it and working it more

Well you could always rub the stick onto your face beard to release more soap or grate the stick into a container and compress it to form a cake which you should find easier to use. As always it's about getting the right soap to water ratio with your brush, your silver tip holds comparatively a lot of water but wont pick up much soap because of it's softness, give it a good squeeze to remove excess water and add water later if you need to. I'd also pick up some Palmolive cream, it'll get you going with the stick in the mean time.

I've found that the Palmolive sticks work well for me when grated into a bowl.
This wasn't necessary with other sticks though, just Palmolive :?
regards, beejay

Rubbing the stick on the face is a good idea, as face lathering (for me) always gave better result and resulted in less faff in the bathroom.

You should be fine with the ToBS, just load up the brush for 30 seconds and start throwing it around your face till creamy.