Am I expecting too much?

Hi,
I'm a novice shaver of about 2 weeks de shaving experience. Previous shaves have been electric / disposable / system razors.

While I am definitely still learning technique I don't slice myself very often and get a pretty close shave most days.

My concern is that I'm not experiencing that much difference between the blades I've tried with one exception.

so far I've tried:
Derby super stainless
Shark super stainless
Gillette 7 o'clock super platinum
Treet platinum
and
Lord platinum

All from a sampler.

The exception was the Treet blade which gave me quite bad razor burn comparable to what i was experiencing with my electric razor.

I've got some astra's and Wilkinson sword left to try but to be honest the others seem much of a muchness with regards to cutting ability and smoothness.

I'm willing to believe that my shaving skills are having an impact - i face lather most of the time with TOBS soap and a vulfix 404 and use an EJ 89 barley handle razor.

I'm not unhappy with the shaves given by any of the blades I've tried (bar the treet).

I'd like to try some feathers and some Israeli persona's as well as some supermarket own brands just to see what the deal is with those but that can wait a while I think.

Anyway is there anything other than the feel, amount of nicks / cuts / irritation i end up with and smoothness of my face post shave that I should be paying attention to?

many thanks.

You may not feel much difference between certain blades but there are great/good/bad blades out there, BUT for different people there can be a big difference. It depends on your skin sensitivity and hair growth to, different razors with different blades give different shaves, it's a matter of finding what suits you best.