English Made Wilkinson Sword Blades?

G

Gairdner

I have this wee obsession about trying to buy British no matter what it is I buy. Just another influence Grandad bestowed on me. Sometimes its just impossible, occasionally the quality is so poor its not worthwhile and quite often its priced way out of my reach.

I noticed fairly quickly on joining here that no new DE blades are made in good old Blighty but it seems that NOS Wilkinson Sword blades that were made in England can be had here and there.

Would these be some?

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/WILKINSON...rRemoval_RL&hash=item2a1a4d1a71#ht_500wt_1156

If not, could one of you experienced and knowledgeable chaps advise where I can get my mitts on some? I do appreciate that I am new to DE shaving but several shaves in, I'm enjoying myself and getting a good enough shave that I am a definite convert. Time and practice will indubitably improve technique, etc.

Thanks in advance gents.

They are quite hard to come by, having been out of production since 1999. The gold 5 appears above the WS logo on the English ones; below on the modern German ones. You can't always go by the seller's pic as it may be a stock photo. I've seen a few sellers say that they get asked about whether their stock is English/German and they've added a disclaimer that their stock could be either!
There is a place local to me that does them but they're a bit expensive (£1.90 for 5) and I've got a few people to get some for already when I next get the time, but I could pick you up a pack to try when I do. You may need to PM me if I post on here when I've got them. The pharmacy doesn't open after 5 and weekends are fairly busy but I'll try to get some this Saturday

hunnymonster said:
There's always the Sheffield-made Jewel Super Stainless :dodgy:

If i was to be tortured and the footage put out on youtube as proof, would that be enough to forget the "Jewelgate" scandal ?? :blush::blush::blush: