Fatboy setting? And general technique advice please

Hello all,

I'm new to DE shaving, have been using a Fatboy for two days on number 1 but I think my technique needs some fine tuning as my neck was very red and sore after day 2! And somehow I managed more nicks on day 2 than day 1.

Whats best just keep going everyday or do I need to let my neck recover first?

On the first day I did WTG, XTG and ATG just to see if I could get a BBS which I did and it felt great. 2nd day I just did WTG and XTG as my neck was tender it still feels nice but neck is very sore!

Hi Defender

There could be a number of elements that are contributing to the problems you are having. These include (but are not limited to):

• Too many passes - not everyone has skin that can withstand multiple passes - especially in the "early" days of converting to a DE razor. Just stick with on or two passes until you have your technique sorted
  • Too much pressure - you should not apply pressure, just let the weight of the razor do the work
  • Poor lather - too "sloppy" or too "dry" and you won't get the benefit of the cushioning and slip that a good lather will give
  • Not applying more lather between passes. Someone else has been on here and not realised that you need to re-apply lather inbetween passes!
  • Razor not closed properly - ensure the doors of the razor are fully closed - they often need a little extra turn just when you think they are already closed
  • Razor damaged - if the doors are misaligned then the blade may not be sitting correctly

There are many other reasons for a poor shave. Can you provide more details regarding your pre-shave preparation, the soap you are using and how you are making your lather.

If you haven't watched them already, Mantic59 has a good set of tutorial videos on Youtube that are well worth watching.

Don't give up, it takes time to get your technique sorted - but it's well worth it when you do! :)

Hi Defender,

I agree with everything Hax says.