Hello

Hello, hello!

Stumbled across this place recently when I was looking for new blades for my DE razor, I'm new to it all. Previously the only razor I've ever used was my old Gillette Sensor that I've had since my first shave. Bless. (I do have a Phillips electric but that only gets used if I'm in a rush and already running late.)

I thought I'd give DE a go and picked up an aluminium ball end and a gorgeous nickle plated Tech with it's original turquoise leater case from a charity shop (they've both since been cleaned and properly sterilized). Wilkos turned up a Palmolive shaving stick for 49p and a pack of 5 laser blades for 40p. Boy it's cheap! I got a Wilkinson Sword brush, I didn't want to splash out on badger in case it wasn't for me. Well I'm hooked! For years I've made my own shaving oil, a mix of almond oil with essential oils, I never liked gels or foam. I now get up early just to have a proper shave, the whole routine, there's something religious and relaxing about it. The local Tacky Maxx had some Taylors Sandle wood shaving cream for £5, I now smell like I remember my grandfather used to, funy how it brings back memories.

Is it just me though or do razors shave differently with the same blade? The aluminium one doesn't leave my skin feeling as sore, I have tried both a few times. It could just be down to my technique though.

It's time to buy more blades and Gillette 7's get good write ups so I've got some yellows on their way. Anything else worth trying? I know people rave about Feathers but I'm only after a good every day blade and sufficiency over optimisation (and assosciated cost) suits me.

I've tried to attach a pic of my razors, it may have all gone wrong.

Cheerio all.

i didnt really like the synthetic wilkinsons brush, you can pick up a boar hair brush cheap that a lot of people perfer (i cant coment on only have 1 synthetic,1 cheap boar and 1 cheap badger)

Hello and welcome to TSR.