The burn, the burn! Straight Newbie from UK.

Hi All,

Another straight razor newbie here. Been shaving DE for 5 years but recently an itch that I've been meaning to scratch has taken the better of me.

One new Dovo En Vogue, a Miller strop and I'm now the proud owner of razor burn I've not experienced for years! I wanted a challenge and I think I've certainly got one.

Technique, technique, technique - I'm sure I'll get there in the end and it'll be an experience getting to shaving nirvana (if that is possible) but boy does it burn on the way!

I'll definitely be seeking out the greater wisdom of the more established forum members for a little guidance here and there. Thanks in advance!

F.

Welcome to the forum :)

Its all about blade angle, skin stretching and no pressure.

How many passes are you doing?

Is it pulling much?

Straights have a longer learning curve than DE so expect it to take a while to get right.

Hello F, welcome to the forum. :)

Everything Jeltz says is good; some more questions:

Where did the razor come from, and was it sold as shave ready?
How confident are you that your stropping is improving the edge?
Is your lather slippery and cushioning?

Little tip for you: dipping the blade in hot water before shaving can make matters a lot more comfortable.

Jeltz said:

Is it pulling much?

Straights have a longer learning curve than DE so expect it to take a while to get right.

Hi Jeltz,