The Taming Of The Muhle

daz

This could also be posted in shave of the day!
I have been using the Muhle R41 for a quite a few weeks now, it has been a sair fecht at times, but tonight was a different story! Lathered up with La Toja and stuck in yet another Astra SP, i took my time and let the blade slip accross my face. After three passes i was rewarded with the closest shave yet, with no nicks, cuts, bleeders or anything else. Not even any irritation afterwards! I finished off with some Arko post shave cream and then some of Steve's marvellous bay rum. I am pretty new to DE shaving so you may not want to trust me, but for anyone out there trying to get to grips with this beast please give it some time. You really need to use it for quite a while to get the feel, but once you do you will be rewarded with a very clean face. In fact it is the best shave i have had for years,

Daz

Mine should be arriving in the post this week, I am looking forward to giving it a go. I found a similar experience with my Fatip where it took quite a while before I could get irritation free shaves, and now it is the razor I reach to most often, hence why I decided to purchase the R41.

Well done, Daz. Still fear'd of that particular beastie and not sure my growth warrants it. Would probably wake in the middle of the night screaming, " The R41's gonna git me!"

Would rather not wake in the middle of the night whilst dreaming that Nigella's gonna git me!

I could never understand one thing though. People are amazed at 'how close it shaves', but how does it get any closer than BBS? I mean - it's skin next. So, if I can get a BBS with, say, Aristo, R41 won't give me any closer shave - perhaps a faster one if I could skip a pass. And I think it's more about experience and realisation that you've succeeded with this vampire :)