New to this... Which blades?

I'm new to DE shaving. I only started in November '11 but have found it a great way to shave and I'm really enjoying it.

The only blades I have tried thus far are Derby's. They came with a set I bought. I'm finding they tug a little too much for my liking and was wondering if anyone can recommend some good blades to move onto.

I've recently bought an Edwin Jagger DE89BL and some Crabtree and Evelyn Sandalwood soap (I prefer the Arko soap I got in the set if I'm honest) thinking this would improve the result, however I'm still getting the tugging, etc. I have looked at some sample packs but haven't taken the plunge as yet. I've heard the Feathers are about as sharp as you can get, however, my skin tends to redden quite easily after shaving but I'm unsure if that's down to poor technique or old habits with cartridges-style blades.

Any recommendations on which sort of blades I should be looking at?

Derbys have a kind of love em or hate em following.

Why not try some of the sample packs you can get from Connought, or PM me your address if you are in the UK and I'll PIF you a few to try.

Blades are subjective - what works for me most certainly wont be the same for you, and what works well in one razor seems a little too keen in another. Best to try a few and see what you like. Then BUY BUY BUY!

This might sound like a silly question but... how many shaves have you been getting out of each of your Derby blades? Your post seems to imply that you've been shaving since November and only having gone through 5 blades!!!

Tugging is often simply the result of the blade blunting - if you have a particularly thick beard, or shave multiple passes (3+buffing/tough-ups, etc.), the blades may blunt a lot quicker.

Also (and apologies for stating what might be the bleedin'-obvious), your angle of attack might be too steep. This too could be resulting in the blade snagging rather than cutting the hairs, and scraping the skin (hence the reddening).