Hi all. I am new to safety razor shaving. In fact I had my first wet shave yesterday! OMG, brilliant, was my reaction. Yes I did nic myself the first time and im sure will do many more times, but i have now got the bug and there is no going back lol.
The reason I decided to go down the safety razor route was that I received a Ted Baker shaving mug and brush for Xmas. This made me think about upgrading my old Mach3. I thought that there must be a better option out there, I just fancied a change.
I started researching alternatives such as subscription services (Harrys, DSC and Cornerstone) and various other cartridge offerings. During my research I kept coming across the term safety razor, time and time again. This intrigued me and it wasn't long before I started looking into them. I was then astonished to see that the razor looked exactly like the one my father once used when I was younger. I thought this can't be right! Surely the technology of today has easily surpassed that of yesteryear. I then realised that some advances in technology are there for one reason and one reason only......Profit!!

So I decided to take the plunge and invest in a Merkur 34c razor with an alum rock and a sample pack of blades. After watching many YouTube videos on shaving creams etc I opted for Taylor of Old Bond Street Sandalwood cream and separately ordered some samples of Truefitt & Hill (I am still waiting for these). One thing led to another and I realised that the brush I got with the Ted Baker set probably wouldn't be up to much, so I started researching brushes. I have now (accidentaly or not ;)) ordered two new brushes, a razorock plissoft and a men-ü black pro (again I am awaiting delivery of these). Both of these brushes are synthetic and do not brake the bank at around £15 each Inc delivery.

Hook, line and sinker I hear you say!

Seriously though, any pointers, tips and general advice would be welcome ☺

Thanks for reading.
Gaz

Welcome along Gaz @GaryH :)