Thoughts on Aeropress

I have been using the Aeropress now for four months after switching from a french press. I think it produces a great cup of coffee using the inverted brew method when as usual you get the water/coffee ratio's correct for you own liking. The Aeropress produces a puck that is easily discarded and the parts cleaned under running water; another point is the parts are very durable and the press is cheap to purchase, all-in-all I am impressed! :icon_razz:

Me too.

Got mine fairly recently and I can get a great strong shot from it. Love how easy it is to clean up afterwards.

Just got myself a v60 this weekend too so the journey continues!

Admittedly, I am an espresso enthusiast - and the Aeropress is incapable of producing a 'true' espresso (principally because this would require much more brewing pressure than the Aeropress is capable of producing). That being said, the Aeropress produces an excellent cup of coffee!
I use the inverted brewing method as well and have refined my recipe to make a strong cup that suits my taste. IMO, the best thing about is that you can experiment with a potentially infinite number of brewing recipes until you find 'the one' for you. Also, as mentioned, the cleanup is a breeze.
Still looking for an affordable second hand Gaggia to quench my espresso cravings though! Ha

Hello all,

I must echo the above sentiments.

As a french press alternative, it works very well.

It can also produce a nice 'shot' of (not quite)espresso.

I wish my moka pot was as convenient (although I love it).

Cheers,

Stu

If you like the Aeropress you might want to try using a permanent disk filter like this link.

I got one a while ago and it does give a different taste. People say it they can taste the paper filter (I can't) and the metal filter allows the oils to pass through.