Are Supermarket Bought Soaps Any Good?

Are the soaps in the small bowls, which can be bought from supermarkets really any good?

I started off using these, a Wilkinson Sword one if I remember correctly and it was okay but when I look at the price of some of the other creams and soaps available it makes me think they are not really favoured to DE shaving.

Your thoughts?

anotheruser said:
Are the soaps in the small bowls, which can be bought from supermarkets really any good?

I started off using these, a Wilkinson Sword one if I remember correctly and it was okay but when I look at the price of some of the other creams and soaps available it makes me think they are not really favoured to DE shaving.

Your thoughts?

I have no experience of the soaps in bowls, but the Palmolive sticks are perfectly useable.

IN short, anything Wilkinson sword, apart from their DE blades is rubbish. The bowl is especially bad as many have reported on these forums and elsewhere.

I will second what you've been told about the Palmolive stick. It's a great performer at an unbelievable price.

You can also find some good creams (but not great) at supermarkets, such as Palmolive, Ingrams and even Erasmic.

Re: RE: Are Supermarket Bought Soaps Any Good?

NotTheStig said:
The WS bowl is crap. Thin bubbly lather. Palmolive anything is good and Erasmic good if you go for the Supreme line

I agree with that. I tried the WS bowl and it is rubbish.

I find creams are easier to lather generally, I like the TOBS creams and they are my normal goto creams. I do use a few soaps, but not often as they require more time and effort to get a decent lather and I'm too lazy for that. I think for beginner shavers that creams are the better option to start with as the lathering is easier.